Confidentiality & security

 

Confidentiality

There are a few limits on confidentiality, as described below. Otherwise, everything you tell me is completely confidential. I will not discuss you with anyone else unless you have given me permission and we both think it would be helpful. I may discuss aspects of our work together with my supervisor, without identifying who you are. Supervision by a senior counsellor is a requirement of my professional organization and is an important part of my continuing professional development. Most counsellors have regular supervision. I keep records of my counseling contacts for my own reference.

 

I password protect my client records, which are kept on a USB stick in a locked filing cabinet. Records are destroyed after 5 years, in accordance with professional association guidelines.

 

The circumstances in which I would break confidentiality are:

 

  • If you are at risk of severe harm or someone else is at severe risk of harm

  • If the law requires it: this applies for terrorist activity or illegal activity

 

If you have online counseling, it is not permissible for you to publish, forward to a third party or otherwise share the texts of our online communications.

 

Online security

I use an encrypted, secure email (Safe-mail) and virtual meeting service (VSee). I ask that you create an account for Safe-mail or VSee  depending how we decide to communicate with each other.

 

If you decide to start online counseling, it’s important to know how to communicate in a secure and confidential way. Follow these guidelines:

 

  • Use an encrypted email service. I recommend Safe-mail. Don’t use this for anything except your counseling

  • Use a computer in a private place where no-one can see what you are doing

  • Always log in and log out of your email service, Skype or VSee, don’t save your password

  • Send all counseling emails as encrypted attachments. We can share the encryption password at the start of our contact

 

Clearing your computer history:

Your computer automatically keeps a history of the web pages you visit and may save graphics, cookies and other files to your computer. This means others can find out which websites you have visited by looking through your computer's history or cache file. You can clear your history or empty your cache file in your browser's settings.

 

  • Click on Internet Explorer

  • Click on the Tools menu (in the row at the top of the browser).

  • Select Internet Options from the drop down menu.

  • Select the tab labelled 'General'.

  • Under the title, 'Temporary Internet Files', click on 'Delete Files'.

  • You can also check the box that says delete all offline content.

  • Then, under 'History' click on 'Clear History.'

  • Then click OK, at the bottom.

 

Copyright 2015 Andrina Rout Counseling - All Rights Reserved - Impressum/Impression

Datenschutz/Data protection